Rules question

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rules question

Post  Dr. Hans Zarkov on Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:41 pm

I didnt see a rules heading so I am asking the question here. It seems that there are a few people that believe that you can assault from a vehicle that was blown up in the players previous phase. Please let this be known that this is untrue before it spreads further. For example, I drive my rhino up in turn one and leave the guys inside. On my opponents turn, he destroys the rhino. On my next turn, that squad (my squad that was in the rhino) CANNOT assault. Please reference the second paragraph on the right side of page 79 of the rulebook. I have never seen this played any other way including friendly games, tournaments, videos, etc..
avatar
Dr. Hans Zarkov

Posts : 134
Join date : 2011-06-05
Location : The empire of Ming the Merciless

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Rules question Page 79 Disembarking Restrictions

Post  Necron on Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:03 am

Doc,

I followed up with several rules lawyers and although you are correct about not assaulting after disembarking in the movement phase ........ It is the first sentence on page 79 that sets the criteria for disembarking restrictions.

A unit that begins its movement phase embarked ......... ( that is the fundamental premise )

In the situation you described, where your unit had been blown out of the vehicle (forced to" disembark"), when the turn changed and the movement phase started, they were not embarked, therefor not disembarking restrictions... They were free to move, shoot, and assault as normal.

The situational status of a unit at the beginning of the movement phase sets the restrictions for that unit for that turn ..

It was just a cool thing that I rolled snake-eyes for the assault range Sad The assault did not effect the game outcome. It was purely academic. BTW That was one of the most enjoyable games I have played in a very long time... I have never seen that many vehicles on one 40K board at one time ........ JUST AWESOME !!!!!

N

Thoughts of others ...............
avatar
Necron

Posts : 384
Join date : 2011-10-30
Location : Biloxi

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules question

Post  Uktena on Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:33 am

My group always played it that the disembarked unit from a wrecked/destroyed transport could not charge next turn unless on an assault vehicle.

Just to be double sure I looked and found this in the rulebook faq 1.3:

Q:If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the
enemy turn,can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn?
(p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle
avatar
Uktena

Posts : 187
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Ocean Springs

View user profile http://astrachaoswolf.blogspot.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules question

Post  Necron on Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:28 am

Well I'll be: ...........Good show DOC, Uktena, As I told you I always learn something each time we play. ..... here it is page 7, left hand column, FAQ1.3 ...... Thanks to all, Just goes to show your never to old to learn !!
N
avatar
Necron

Posts : 384
Join date : 2011-10-30
Location : Biloxi

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules question

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum