Charging and being too Good

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Charging and being too Good

Post  AllmightyDM on Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:48 am

We were playing at the weekly Tuesday SMG event at Macnarbs and ran into a question about Charging.

Question 1:
So my Archon and his squad charge into some marines.  The Archon moves into base to base with a marine, and two of his squad move into base to base with two other marines.  Say the Archon at Initiative 7 kills all marines in base contact.  

Does that end the combat if no models are in base to base at the end of Initiative 7?

If not, when the next models are activated at initiative 4 (my squad and his marines) wouldn't they move 3" each in order to go base to base with the closest model? If they couldn't reach would that end the combat? What if he moves a marine into Base to Base with my Archon, is that valid?

Question 2:
Marines can't be caught in a Sweeping Advance?  Or is that their "ATSKNF"?

Question 3:
Blood for the Blood God!
avatar
AllmightyDM

Posts : 439
Join date : 2011-11-22
Location : Pascagoula, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  Hinkel on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:02 am

In ATSKNF rule on p. 51 of the codex it states, "If Space Marines are caught by a sweeping advance, they are not destroyed and will instead continue to fight normally. If this happens then the unit is subject to the No Retreat! rule ..."
avatar
Hinkel

Posts : 968
Join date : 2011-10-24
Age : 36
Location : Pascagoula

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  AllmightyDM on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:03 am

What does the no retreat rule do?
avatar
AllmightyDM

Posts : 439
Join date : 2011-11-22
Location : Pascagoula, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  Hinkel on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:06 am

Will not retreat , stay and fight
avatar
Hinkel

Posts : 968
Join date : 2011-10-24
Age : 36
Location : Pascagoula

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  Chaos Pat on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:07 am

question 1: every one in the combat gets a pile in move at their initiative step, so the marines and grotesques would try to get into base contact with eachother, if at the end of all initiative step pile ins, and the end of the combat pile in you are not in base contact with a enemy model, then the combat ends. also yes moving a marine into base contact with the archon is valid, any enemy model counts towards being engaged.

question 2: already answered

question 3: SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!
avatar
Chaos Pat

Posts : 260
Join date : 2011-05-30
Age : 22
Location : ocean springs,ms

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  AllmightyDM on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:11 am

So in regards to Question 1 about ending combat, have you seen this come up much? I suppose that's about 6" of movement normally to close the gap. I was concerned that you had to have an "active model" fighting to get to combat. Ie. the problem with the marine moving to the Archon.

What if the Archon was in a challenge, how would that change the answer?
avatar
AllmightyDM

Posts : 439
Join date : 2011-11-22
Location : Pascagoula, MS

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  Chaos Pat on Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:29 am

its actually 12'' of movement, because both sides will do initiative and end of combat pile in, ive seen it come up twice in my entire 40k career.

if the archon is in a challenge, he is never considered to be in base contact with anyone except the other guy in the challenge, but for the purposes of engaging the unit, he would only have to get within 2" of his squadmate in the challenge, since that guy is engaged in combat.
avatar
Chaos Pat

Posts : 260
Join date : 2011-05-30
Age : 22
Location : ocean springs,ms

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Charging and being too Good

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum