Combat Squads

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Combat Squads

Post  CKO on Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:19 pm

Ok guys there has been alot of rule discussion about combat squads and I researched it and everyone was right and wrong.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/387294.page#3152612

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/385653.page#3123509

The only transport that you can use combat squad with is a drop pod. Meaning if you keep a rhino in reserve all 10 must come inside the rhino there is no seperating, meaning I can not have 5 walk on while the other 5 are in a transport.

Deepstrike/teleport is different, you roll to see if the one unit comes in if so you are allowed to use combat squads to deploy the one unit in 2 seperate places.

The links are my references apparently it is a common rule dispute.
avatar
CKO

Posts : 341
Join date : 2011-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Combat Squads

Post  thecapn226 on Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:45 am

Heres some stuff from some of the FAQ's on GW's site to help with your personal decisions.

Q: Can you take a Drop Pod with a 10-man squad and
then put a combat squad in it, deploying the other combat
squad on the table, or leave it in reserve but not in the
Drop Pod? (p32)
A: No, because squads that are placed in reserve may not
break down into combat squads.

Q: If I split a Grey Knights squad into two combat
squads, can both embark into or be deployed in the
same dedicated transport? (p21)
A: No. They are no longer the same unit and a
transport vehicle can only carry a single infantry squad.

Q: If I split a Space Marine squad into two combat
squads, can both embark into or be deployed in the
same dedicated transport? (p51)
A: No. They are no longer the same unit and a
transport vehicle can only carry a single infantry squad.

(This one is from INAT FAQ)
SM.51D.01 – Q: If a player declares that a unit is arriving from Reserves inside a vehicle can that unit be split into combat squads when it arrives?
A: No, besides a Drop Pod, a unit that arrives from Reserves in a vehicle cannot be split into combat squads [RAW].
Ref: BA.05B.01, DA.23D.01
avatar
thecapn226

Posts : 711
Join date : 2011-05-30
Location : Biloxi

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Combat Squads

Post  CKO on Mon Aug 08, 2011 4:21 pm

The faqs is reffering to dedicated transports, meaning that the only dedicated transport that you are allowed to keep in reserve and use combat squads with is a drop pod. However if you choose not to use a dedicated transport then you can split them up when they arrive.
avatar
CKO

Posts : 341
Join date : 2011-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Combat Squads

Post  thecapn226 on Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:54 pm

My problem is with the deep striking. On page 95 of the BRB it says "Roll fo arrival of these units as specified in the rules for reserves and then deploy them as follows" and then it goes into placing one model from the unit, scattering, then once it is done the remaining models in the unit are placed. This means that while they are being deployed, they have to be deployed specifically as in the deep strike rules, which state that once the first models touches down, all the other models in the unit must be placed around it.
avatar
thecapn226

Posts : 711
Join date : 2011-05-30
Location : Biloxi

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Combat Squads

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum